What are we really feeding our bodies?

healthyhappy50ish:

Everyone needs to think about where are food comes from and what is in our food!!. I know a big debate is the cost, but there is a greater cost to you and your family’s health!
Organic should be a basic standard !! How and when did it become acceptable to put poisons in our food!

Originally posted on diamondsonyourinside:

Are organic foods really worth the hype and the extra money? I am gonna break it down quickly for you. Reasons for organic:

1. No harmful pesticides. Many of these pesticides cannot be washed off of the produce–as they penetrate the entire vegetable. Would you sprinkle DEET on your popcorn?

2. No GMOs. That is genetically modified organisms. If you aren’t clear on what those are, don’t feel bad. Even the scientists who created them can’t predict what will happen to humans when they are consumed. Monsanto created the ‘Round Up Ready’ soybean and corn. This means that the powerful pesticide will kill everything around it except the the GM bean. Great, you think. Not really. These crops have been modified so that if an insect eats it, the insect’s insides are destroyed. But it’s OK for humans to eat it? I’m no rocket scientist, but….

3. They taste…

View original 114 more words

Tags: , , , , , ,

About healthyhappy50ish

Most important a mom & wife! Have 3 wonderful daughters and a happy marriage. I am in the 50ish category and sandwiched between young kids in middle school and aging parents. I am passionate about healthy living and feel this would be a great way to share my experiences. It is a scary thought I am an AARP card-carrying member and over 50 years have gone by!! Do not feel over 30, but when I look around me I want my friends and myself to enjoy life to the fullest. I do not want my kids to wipe my bottom in the future!! I want go out moving enjoying life,family,friends and of course wine. I also felt this was also a way to share myself to my kids once they want to listen and read my blogg. Someday they my see my motherly advice had some value! Most of all I am doing this because I love my family and my self and needed to have an avenue to express my thoughts and ideas!!
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

