Low Calorie – Low Carb Pig Out!

IMG_3223

Spaghetti Squash Curry

Let’ face it!  Sometimes I need a big volume of food to feel satisfied!  Spaghetti squash curry, you can always GO back for seconds without trashing your diet. This is a great meal that is filling, and with a little experimentation you can change-up the spices and vegetables to create many low-calorie, low carb meals!

Ingredients;

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup butter nut squash
  • 1 zucchini
  • 3 tomatoes
  • organic chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • curry to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Any beans for protein – I love chickpeas

After chopping everything, saute the onions and garlic in a non stick pan with a drizzle of olive oil.  Then add all the other vegetables and cook in 2 cups of chicken broth.  Cover and cook until soft, adding curry and salt and pepper to taste.  While that is cooking microwave the spaghetti squash.  Cut in half and scoop out the seeds. Use a fork to rake out the spaghetti squash.  It should come out of the skin very easily, if not microwave for a few more minutes.

You can doctor up the sauce any way you like.  I take about one cup of the cooked vegetables and puree them and stir them back into the sauce.  You can do as much or as little you want depending how thick you like the sauce.  Do not forget to experiment with different spices and vegetables for many twists on the same dish!

Enjoy

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About healthyhappy50ish

Most important a mom & wife! Have 3 wonderful daughters and a happy marriage. I am in the 50ish category and sandwiched between young kids in middle school and aging parents. I am passionate about healthy living and feel this would be a great way to share my experiences. It is a scary thought I am an AARP card-carrying member and over 50 years have gone by!! Do not feel over 30, but when I look around me I want my friends and myself to enjoy life to the fullest. I do not want my kids to wipe my bottom in the future!! I want go out moving enjoying life,family,friends and of course wine. I also felt this was also a way to share myself to my kids once they want to listen and read my blogg. Someday they my see my motherly advice had some value! Most of all I am doing this because I love my family and my self and needed to have an avenue to express my thoughts and ideas!!

6 responses to “Low Calorie – Low Carb Pig Out!”

  1. lolabees says :

    I love spaghetti squash and always forget about it. Thanks for the reminder! This recipe looks great.

  2. HighFlavorHealthyHeart says :

    I just got a new No Sodium Indian curry sauce, and was wondering what to make first! I think this veggie combo may be just what it I was looking for!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

