Pass the peas please!

Name of the game is fast snack on the go!  Now my personal disclaimer is if you have time and are not out on the go eating raw fresh fruits and veggies is the way to go!  Now after saying that I have 3 kids, work schedule, soccer and not to mention a carpool and I am a snacker.  I prefer to eat healthy but in between meals I search for snacks for “on the go” instead of reaching for junk food from a fast food restaurant.  My college student is also looking for healthy alternatives that does not require preparation for the dorm.

Todays review is called “CRUNCHIES 100% Organic Peas

 I know what your thinking but hang on!  BUT – If you’re gonna snack it might as well be nutritious.  These crunches are 100% Organic Peas, no wheat, gluten-free and only 7 grams of sugar.  They also contain 6 grams of fiber and 7 grams of protein which will help you feel full.  They are only 104 calories per serving.  The peas manufacture claim that the  freeze-drying process maintains the enzymes and nutrients.

NOW for the real test “THE TASTE”  They are very crunchy and satisfy my need to crunch.  At first I thought they were  bland but the more I ate the more favorable they seemed. Now for me I always like to change things up!  I sprayed olive oil and added an italian seasoning on them and even my teenager loved them that way.  Do put too much oil or it will make them soggy.  These peas would be great added to salads or anything else you can think of.

Out of a rating from 1 -10, 10 being the best;  I rate this snack a 6.  My three kids rated them from a 2 -6.  My youngest would not even try them.  I know for me I want to feel good about what I am putting in my body and my kids need more convincing!

Happy Snacking – Share what you think!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About healthyhappy50ish

Most important a mom & wife! Have 3 wonderful daughters and a happy marriage. I am in the 50ish category and sandwiched between young kids in middle school and aging parents. I am passionate about healthy living and feel this would be a great way to share my experiences. It is a scary thought I am an AARP card-carrying member and over 50 years have gone by!! Do not feel over 30, but when I look around me I want my friends and myself to enjoy life to the fullest. I do not want my kids to wipe my bottom in the future!! I want go out moving enjoying life,family,friends and of course wine. I also felt this was also a way to share myself to my kids once they want to listen and read my blogg. Someday they my see my motherly advice had some value! Most of all I am doing this because I love my family and my self and needed to have an avenue to express my thoughts and ideas!!

2 responses to “Pass the peas please!”

  1. lolabees says :

    I love wasabi peas, but can’t eat them anymore, as the coating is made with wheat. These sound a bit healthier. May just have to try…

