Coconut oil – eat it? or tan with it?

Green coconuts

Image via Wikipedia

Coconut oil, what is all the craze about? 

 I mean look at the label: 12 grams of fat and 120 calories per tbsp and 0 trans fat. 

Do I eat it or tan with it?

Coconut oil facts:

  • Coconut meat is nutritious and rich in fiber and vitamins.
  •  Oil is made from the meat of coconuts.
  • The oil is slow to oxidize so does not get rancid as quick as other oils. Lasts up to 2 years.
  • The oil has a sweet nutty taste.

I know we have always been told that fat is bad for you!  But took at this country with all its low-fat craze. Americans levels of heart disease, obesity and cholesterol has increased at alarming rates.  We are doing something wrong!  Did you know there has been several studies on Asian and Pacific Island populations. These populations got the  majority of their caloric intake from saturated coconut oil and have demonstrated non-existent cardio vascular rates The word saturated fat has always sent me running in the opposite direction!  But researchers are saying not all saturated fats are created equal.  The key word being “created”.  Some fats occur naturally while others are artificially made in a process called Hydrogenation.  These man-made saturated fats are called trans-fats and are not good for you. Experts say hydrogenation does nothing good for your health except benefits shelf life which is good for corporate profits.

Here is the bottom line:

Hydrogenation = man-made saturated fats

Hydrogenation = trans-fats

saturated fats occurring naturally = good fats

saturated fat or man-made trans fats =bad fats

I am no researcher but I do read a lot.   I believe all the studies of tropical cultures where coconut oil has been consumed for thousands of years compared to short-term control studies, should carry some weight!

Many researchers believe coconut oils saturated fats actually provide health benefits!

  •  Improving heart health
  •  boosting your thyroid
  • increasing metabolism
  •  promoting a lean body
  •  supporting your immune system.

CAN WE DO IT!  CHANGE OUR BELIEFS?

 IS THE EARTH FLAT OR ROUND ?  YOU  DECIDE!

Do your reasearch for your health!

Dr. Joseph Mercola is the founder and director of Mercola.com. Become a fan of Dr. Mercola on Facebook, follow him on Twitter, and check out Dr. Mercola’s report on sun exposure!

Follow Dr. Joseph Mercola on Twitter: www.twitter.com/mercola

Raymond Peat Newsletter, Coconut Oil, reprinted at http://www.heall.com. http://www.heall.com/body/healthupdates/food/coconutoil.html An Interview With Dr. Raymond Peat, A Renowned Nutritional Counselor Offers His Thoughts About Thyroid Disease

Baba, N 1982.Enhanced thermogenesis and diminished deposition of fat in response to overfeeding with diet containing medium-chain triglycerides,  Am. J. Clin. Nutr.,  35:379

Dr. Mary G. Enig, Ph.D., F.A.C.N. Source: Coconut: In Support of Good Health in the 21st Century (6)  Isaacs CE, Litov RE, Marie P, Thormar H. Addition of lipases to infant formulas produces antiviral and antibacterial activity, Journal of Nutritional Biochemistry, 1992;3:304-308.

Isaacs CE, Schneidman K. Enveloped Viruses in Human and Bovine Milk are Inactivated by Added Fatty Acids(FAs) and Monoglycerides(MGs), FASEB Journal, 1991;5: Abstract 5325, p.A1288.

Mitsuto Matsumoto, Takeru Kobayashi, Akio Takenakaand Hisao Itabashi. Defaunation Effects of Medium Chain Fatty Acids and Their Derivatives on Goat Rumen Protozoa, The Journal of General Applied Microbiology, Vol. 37, No. 5 (1991) pp.439-445.

St-Onge MP, Jones PJ. Greater rise in fat oxidation with medium-chain triglyceride consumption relative to long-chain triglyceride is associated with lower initial body weight and greater loss of subcutaneous adipose tissue, International Journal of Obesity & Related Metabolic Disorders, 2003 Dec;27(12):1565-71. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12975635

Geliebter, A  1980.  Overfeeding with a diet of medium-chain triglycerides impedes accumulation of body fat, Clinical Nutrition, 28:595

Tags: , , , , ,

About healthyhappy50ish

Most important a mom & wife! Have 3 wonderful daughters and a happy marriage. I am in the 50ish category and sandwiched between young kids in middle school and aging parents. I am passionate about healthy living and feel this would be a great way to share my experiences. It is a scary thought I am an AARP card-carrying member and over 50 years have gone by!! Do not feel over 30, but when I look around me I want my friends and myself to enjoy life to the fullest. I do not want my kids to wipe my bottom in the future!! I want go out moving enjoying life,family,friends and of course wine. I also felt this was also a way to share myself to my kids once they want to listen and read my blogg. Someday they my see my motherly advice had some value! Most of all I am doing this because I love my family and my self and needed to have an avenue to express my thoughts and ideas!!

3 responses to “Coconut oil – eat it? or tan with it?”

  1. claudiagiulia says :

    My doctor turned me on to healthy fats which, by the way, we need for balanced nutrition and well-being. A quarter avocado or a teaspoon of coconut oil find their way into my morning smoothie, pretty much every day. Thank you for spreading the word!

  2. arealfoodlover says :

    Have you read the Coconut Oil Miracle by Bruce Fife, C.N, N.D? He also has a website. http://www.coconutresearchcenter.org/ He has really done an excellent job of laying all the information out in an understandable way.

