On a snack mission

mmmmm delicious

Image via Wikipedia

OK It is late afternoon and feeling starved as usual!  I am in Target on last minute errands before school carpool.   Now I am on a mission to find a quick snack with some protein and fiber, without breaking my calorie bank! After all I do have a snack criteria that generally includes no processed sugar, some protein and fiber.    The other rule I try to follow but it can be difficult, is that I have to be able to prononunce all the ingredients!!

I found the LaraBar!  I had seen this talked about on the biggest looser so I thought I would check it out.   Only 3 ingredients, and all of them I can spell!  It has protein and fiber and no cholesterol.  It is vegan and gluten-free.  It does have about 8 sugars depending on the flavor you pick but it is all natural.

I picked up a multi-flavor box and dashed to the car.  I tried 3 different flavors; cherry pie, cashew cookie, and apple pie.  They were good not my favorite but good.  Also they run about 230 calories so be aware when counting calories.  I liked the apple pie the best.  I think it was a texture thing.  I tend to like more crunchy snacks.  My kids were not fond of them.  My vote is I would buy them again especially if I were traveling for a quick snack to go anywhere!  Share your opinions.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About healthyhappy50ish

Most important a mom & wife! Have 3 wonderful daughters and a happy marriage. I am in the 50ish category and sandwiched between young kids in middle school and aging parents. I am passionate about healthy living and feel this would be a great way to share my experiences. It is a scary thought I am an AARP card-carrying member and over 50 years have gone by!! Do not feel over 30, but when I look around me I want my friends and myself to enjoy life to the fullest. I do not want my kids to wipe my bottom in the future!! I want go out moving enjoying life,family,friends and of course wine. I also felt this was also a way to share myself to my kids once they want to listen and read my blogg. Someday they my see my motherly advice had some value! Most of all I am doing this because I love my family and my self and needed to have an avenue to express my thoughts and ideas!!

2 responses to “On a snack mission”

  1. Lady D says :

    I’m always looking for a good, healthy protein bar. Most have more sugar than anything.

  2. lolabees says :

    I don’t love Larabars either, but they are very popular. Something in the flavor is just lacking for me. They are healthy though!

