Back on track with green smoothies

1 kg of Spinach leaves separated from the stem...

1 kg of Spinach leaves separated from the stems. See Image:spinach_leaves_stems.jpg (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hey, I do not know about the rest of you, but this St. Patrick’s day weekend ended up being a pig out!!  I Had company, a lot of dinners out, drinks and late nite munching!  I went way off the deep end this weekend.  Besides being tired, I feel bloated and have put on a few pounds.  After a weekend like this I almost need to stop cold turkey to get back on track!  Being fatigued just makes me crave more sweets and the more I obsess on the pounds I have gained, I just want food!

So today is my green smoothie day.  I am not starving myself, just the opposite.  I do not want to slow my metabolism down I  just need to cut back some calories and boost myself with a lot of vitamins and high fiber to get things moving. “If you know what I mean!”  I also need to really hydrate!  I try to consume between 20 – 30 grams of fiber and I get these through fruits and vegetables.  Also potassium rich foods  are included to help act as a diuretic.

Heres my day:

Morning;

  • 8oz glass of water
  • cup of green tea with lemon
  • Green smoothie that included 2 cups spinach, 1 cup low-fat greek yogurt, 1/2 banana and 1/2 cup frozen organic strawberries, 1 scoop whey vanilla protein powder. Add water and blend to the thickness you prefer.

Lunch:

  • 8 oz glass of water
  • 1 cup of green tea
  • Green smoothie.  Use 1 ripe avocado,  1 cup almond milk, 2 teaspoons benefiber fiber,  2 tablespoons honey, 1/2 cup frozen organic blueberries and 1/2 cup low-fat greek yogurt and 3 ice cubes and blend.

Dinner: 

  • 8 oz glass of water
  • Green smoothie:  2 cups of spinach, 1 apple, 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup frozen organic strawberries, 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder,  1/2 cup low-fat greek yogurt, then add ice and blend to preference.

Sweet treat:

  • chocolate mud: 1/2 cup of ricotta cheese, stevia to sweeten to taste and coco powder and mix well.

Join me, and let me know how everything works out!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About healthyhappy50ish

Most important a mom & wife! Have 3 wonderful daughters and a happy marriage. I am in the 50ish category and sandwiched between young kids in middle school and aging parents. I am passionate about healthy living and feel this would be a great way to share my experiences. It is a scary thought I am an AARP card-carrying member and over 50 years have gone by!! Do not feel over 30, but when I look around me I want my friends and myself to enjoy life to the fullest. I do not want my kids to wipe my bottom in the future!! I want go out moving enjoying life,family,friends and of course wine. I also felt this was also a way to share myself to my kids once they want to listen and read my blogg. Someday they my see my motherly advice had some value! Most of all I am doing this because I love my family and my self and needed to have an avenue to express my thoughts and ideas!!

5 responses to “Back on track with green smoothies”

  1. Lady D says :

    These sound good. I’m gonna try these. Thanks for sharing.

  2. HighFlavorHealthyHeart says :

    The lunch smoothie sounds super yummy. I have never added avocado yo a smoothie before, will have to try it. I love avocado in place of mayo on toast for a sandwich, or to top salads…this is a great new way to use them also. Thanks

  3. sweetopiagirl says :

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

